Recipents of the OA Distinguished Service Awards

The National Order of the Arrow committee presents the Distinguished Service Award to those Arrowmen who have rendered outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, area, regional, or national basis. It is given primarily for dedicated service to the Order and Scouting over a period of years. Only a limited number of awards can be presented. Arrowmen whose service records are the most outstanding and extend the farthest beyond the local lodge level are usually selected. Young men under 21 and adults (volunteer and professional) are eligible for nomination. Nominations will not be accepted or considered for posthumous awards.

The Distinguished Service Award was created in 1940 to honor those who rendered service to the Order of the Arrow beyond the lodge level. Since the time of the first awards given in 1940, approximately 500 Distinguished Service Awards have been presented.

Here are the individuals from Tali 293 who have received this coveted award starting with the newest recipient.

2012John E. Thomas, Jr.*
1992Teddy Shelton
1986Charles Hoyt Hunt*
1983Alan Cooper*
1981Bill Ketron*
1979Dave Worland